Marketing user permissions

Aha! lets you set sophisticated user permissions and read/write privileges by marketing line or workspace and at the account level.

Note: This support article is intended for accounts that use marketing as a workspace type. For accounts that use product as a workspace type, see this article on product user permissions. For accounts that use both product and marketing workspaces, please note that product owners and marketing owners have the same permissions.

User roles

A user's access is granted per marketing line or workspace. The primary user roles and permissions are listed below. 

Permission Marketing owner Contributor Reviewer Viewer
Add and manage users within the workspace x      
Create new workspaces* x      
Create integrations x      
Customize workspace settings x      
Add and manage strategy, notes, schedules, requests, and activities x x    
Create and manage presentations x x    
Add new activities to existing schedules x x    
Edit existing activities (update status, log time, add attachments, update activity attributes) x x    
Add public comments on requests   x    
Create and edit requests from within Aha!** x x x  
Add comments x x x  
Create reports x x x x
Be added as a watcher on records x x x x
View marketing line strategy, schedules, requests, and activities x x x x
Create and complete to-dos x x x x

*New workspaces can be added by marketing owners using the + icon located on the upper-right side of the toolbar, and can be created anywhere in the marketing hierarchy that the marketing owner has visibility. Customization administrator access is required to edit the marketing hierarchy.

**Reviewers can create requests and edit only their own requests.

Administrator roles

Administrator roles give users to edit various account-level settings. It is a secondary user role so that a user can have administrator access to the account while having any level of access (including "None") to the workspaces and marketing lines within the account.

There are three different administrator access roles:

  • Account: Allows the user to manage account settings such as single sign-on and the account profile.
  • Billing: Allows the user to manage account-level billing and user permissions. Your account must always have at least one billing administrator. You cannot delete or disable your only billing administrator.
  • Customization: Allows the user to manage account-level customizations such as portals, scorecards, and marketing hierarchy.

Custom roles

Enterprise+ accounts can configure custom administrator roles and custom user roles. Custom roles are ideal when you have users that need specific permissions which are not covered by the pre-configured roles. See this support article for more details on custom roles. 

Marketing lines and workspaces

If you have a marketing hierarchy set up in Aha! with at least one marketing line and a child workspace, then the following also applies:

A user who has permission for a workspace automatically gets viewer permission for the marketing lines that the workspace is nested under. This allows the user to see the hierarchy and the strategy for the marketing line.

Note that the user cannot see other workspaces (even the workspace names) under the marketing line unless they have explicit permission for it. 

A user with explicit permission at the marketing line level will have that permission for all child workspaces. The only exception is if they are given more permission for a specific workspace. (They cannot be given less permission for a workspace in that line.)

Users with no permissions

If an Aha! user attempts to view a workspace to which they have no permissions, they will be presented with a notification page. The page provides an email address of an account administrator at their company who can adjust their workspace permissions.

Bulk edit user permissions

To bulk edit user permissions, go to Settings > Account > Users. Select the checkbox next to any name. The bulk edit button will appear at the top of the user list.

Export user information to CSV file

Account administrators can export a complete list of users in their account to a CSV file for better visibility and monitoring of the Aha! user community. Go to Settings > Account > Users to find the Export Users button.

Exported values include first name, last name, email, last active, seat in use, whether they have administrator rights, the date the user was added to the account, the email address of the person that added the user, and user roles by marketing line and workspace.  

Aha! billing plans

There are three billing plans: Premium, Enterprise, and Enterprise+.

In the Premium plan, you pay for every user no matter their role. In the Enterprise and Enterprise+ plans, you pay only for marketing owners and contributors. You may add unlimited reviewers, viewers, and users with no permissions. Usually, users with no permissions are added to administer the account. 

Sign up or upgrade your plan under Settings > Account > Billing


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful