The ability to create Rally integration templates makes it easy for teams to roll out their Rally integrations across their portfolio of products. With configuration templates, you can save any Rally integration you create as a template and then apply that template to future Rally integrations. Changes made to this template will update all other integrations using it - making it easy to administer a large number of integrations.
This is particularly helpful when managing credentials; a Rally admin can create the first integration with the Rally username and password filled out. From that point on, Aha! product owners can use the template without entering credentials every time a new integration is added. If the username and password need to be updated in the future, updating the template will refresh the credentials for all integrations utilizing that template.
When a template is applied to a new Rally integration, the user that created the integration is able to edit any of the configuration options for their instance. This allows teams to quickly configure multiple integrations while maintaining the flexibility to have unique integrations per product.
Creating a template
You will need to be a product owner in Aha! to create a Rally integration through the Settings -> Product area of your account. Once on the integration configuration page, click the actions menu.
Selecting “Use as a template” will save the configuration you are working on as a new template.
Once saved, it will be available to use for future integrations your team configures.
Using an existing template
If you choose to use an existing template, its configuration will be applied to your new integration. Each configuration option will have a check box next to it allowing you to uncheck and apply a unique configuration on a per field basis. For example, you can inherit user credentials and feature mapping from a template, but define custom field mappings unique to your product.
Since the templates allow credentials, and thus Rally access, to be used throughout an Aha! account, only users with access to the product containing the template will be able to apply the template.
If someone creates a template for "Product A" in my account, and I do not have access to "Product A", I will not be able to use the template when I configure my own "Product B" integration.
In order to use a template defined on another product, you need at least viewer access on that product. Without full product owner access, the user will be able to use the template but will not have access to edit it. This is particularly important because it allows templates to be configured without the concern of other users editing it and impacting integrations across the account.
Remove a template
To remove a template or delete an integration serving as a template, you first need to switch any integrations using it to a different template. When viewing the template, there will be the option to view all integrations currently using it.
Once all integrations using the template have been removed, the actions menu will allow you to delete the integration or remove it as a template.