Many product teams use shared kanban boards to enhance visibility and increase the flow of work. It’s a great tool that helps teams visualize who is doing what work and the status of their software development projects.
Aha! provides a kanban style workflow view for managing who features are assigned to and where those features are in their workflow statuses.
Enable workflow screen
The workflow page is available for every account, but you will need to enable it on a product-by-product basis. You can turn it on instantly under Settings > Product > Navigation. Just check the button under Features for Workflow to enable the agile board for kanban or scrum work. Once enabled, you will see the new option for navigating to the workflow page under Features > Workflow. You now have an agile board to view the status of all of your features. The toggle in the upper left allows you to switch between master feature cards and feature cards on the board. For more help with navigation customizations, see "Customize your Aha! navigation."
Customize your workflow board
Easily customize your kanban board to hide or display the rows and columns you want by clicking Customize view and selecting Configure workflow board. You can choose which users you wish to view and what status columns you want to show via this configuration. Also, don't forget that you can fully customize your statuses and workflows for every product through your product settings.
Customize your feature and master feature cards
You can choose to display additional information such as tags, due dates, custom fields, and more. Click Customize view and select Customize feature cards to customize the cards. Customizations added here are unique to your Workflow board. Customizing the expanded and collapsed views allows you to have quick access to the information you feel is important — removing the need to click into the card's details.
View across products and releases
You can view the kanban-style workflow board across releases within a product and across products as well, if the team members are shared resources for multiple roadmaps. Click Add filter to filter the board so it only displays the data that you wish to work with. By default, a filter is added for Product name and Release name.
Features are generally ordered based on their order on the Features board, which represents the prioritization rank of the feature within a release. If multiple releases are shown in the Workflow board, features in earlier releases will appear first, and within a release group based on the Features board rank. If multiple products are present, then the release date is still used and features will appear in release date order.
View time or story point estimates
You can view work remaining in story points or time at the top of each column. Data is updated automatically as you change status or assignee to give you a real-time view of your team’s progress. Click Customize view to show or hide additional estimates on your Features board.
You can view work based on three metrics:
- Work estimate: This is the total of the feature estimates within each column
- Work remaining: This is total of the work estimates minus the work done (across all features in each column)
- Work done: This is total of the work that has been logged under the Log time button in a feature (across all features in each column)
You can also view the total work remaining across all columns for each user. This appears to the right of the user’s name and is the sum of all feature estimates assigned to each user.