There is an easy way to archive or delete products in Aha! Archiving is more commonly needed for products that are retiring or for firms working on finite client engagements. Deleting products is common when you are using a product as a sandbox environment to experiment with workflow. Be very cautious when deleting products because you cannot recover the data.
Archive products or product lines
When you are finished with a product or product line and want to hide it from the UI, simply remove all of the users from the product using the Product > Users page. This will hide the product from all of the users without deleting any data. You can unarchive the product by giving permission back to users.
There is one thing you need to look out for. If the product or product line you want to archive is a child of a product line and users are granted permission at the product line level, then they will still be able to see the product. In that case, you will need to remove the product from the product line to make it invisible to the users.
- Go to Settings > Account > Configure product lines.
- Create a new product line called "Archived products" or something similar.
- Click on the product you want to archive to edit it. Switch the product line it currently belongs to over to the newly created "Archived products" product line. Save.
Delete products or product lines
You can delete products and product lines under the Configure product lines menu found in Account settings. This will give you a summary of the total features and releases associated with that product. If you are deleting several products and product lines, we recommend you delete the products first. This is because it's common to inherit permissions from product lines, so if you delete one, you lose all permissions to the products beneath them. If you do that by mistake, just go to your User settings and add yourself as a Product Owner to the products individually.
Alternate way to delete a product
You can also delete a product and all of its associated data on the Product > Overview screen. Click the More options button and select Delete product.
This will delete all features, releases, strategy, goals, initiatives, and everything else associated with the product or product line.
If you need to export any data prior to deleting your product, there are a few different ways to export data:
- Export data on the Features > List using the Save as CSV option.
- Create a Notebook and save it as a PDF or HTML.
- Use the API to extract rich information.
There is no standard data format that supports all of the Aha! data types, so there is no universal bulk export feature.
Please carefully consider the impact because deleting a product is PERMANENT. You will not be able to recover any of the data associated with the product. Make sure that you and your team do not need to access any info about this product again before deleting it.