Manage ideas portal users

Ideas portal users are free and unlimited in every Aha! billing plan, so you can invite or import as many users as you want. This guarantees that you can hear from anyone you would like feedback from. It also means that you will likely want to manage your portal users. 

Each ideas portal you create has its own settings to help you manage users for that portal. You can invite, edit, and disable users, as well as follow links to ideas they have created, commented on, or voted on. 

To manage users for an ideas portal, navigate to Settings ⚙️> Account > Configure ideas portals, click on the portal you wish to manage, and then click to the Portal users tab. 

You will need to be an administrator with customization permissions to manage ideas portal users. 

Click any of the following links to skip ahead: 

Invite a single ideas portal user

When users submit ideas, they are automatically captured as portal users. To add users who have not yet submitted ideas, follow these steps to invite them to the portal:

  1. From the Portal users tab, click the Add portal user button and then enter the user's name and email address.
  2. (Optional) Select the Employee or partner checkbox to identify a user as an employee or partner to provide more flexibility for idea visibility. See Ideas overview to learn more about this setting.
  3. Click Create.

invite_portal_user.png

Top

Import multiple ideas portal users by CSV

You may have multiple users — or multiple ideas — to import. If that is the case, navigate to Settings ⚙️> Workspace > Import from CSV to bulk-invite users to your portal. If you need help, use this article on the CSV import.

In addition to ideas and ideas portal users, you can also import:

  • Idea votes (regular or proxy votes)
  • Idea organizations (used in proxy voting)

Top

Resend an invitation to an ideas portal user

If you previously invited a user to the ideas portal but they have not received the invitation email, ask them to check their spam folder to make sure it was not routed there. If they still have not received the message, follow these steps to resend the invitation:

  1. From the Portal users tab, hover over the user's name and click Edit.
  2. Click Resend invite.

If you are still having trouble, contact support@aha.io for additional help.

Top

Manage organizations and contacts

When you proxy vote in Aha!, you add a vote on behalf of an organization. Organizations can be companies, accounts — how you configure them is up to you. Each proxy vote needs to be linked to an organization. 

You can also go a step further, and add contacts to your organizations. Contacts are people associated with the organization. Adding a contact to a proxy vote helps everyone know who to follow-up with, if needed. 

You can import organizations, create them (and associated contacts) in your account settings, or portal users can create organizations and contacts when they add proxy votes to an idea. 

To manage these organizations and contacts, navigate to Settings ⚙️> Account > Ideas portals > Organizations. You need to be an administrator with customization privileges to do this. Since only Aha! administrators can manage the list of available organizations, you can use this page to provide proxy voters in your ideas portals with a consistent list of available organizations.

Top

Edit an ideas portal user's profile

  1. From the Portal users tab, hover over the user's name and click Edit.
  2. Edit the user's profile.
  3. Click Update portal user to save your changes.

Top

Reset an ideas portal user's password

  1. From the Portal users tab, hover over the user's name and click Edit.
  2. Click Send password reset. The user will receive a password reset email. 

Top

Disable or delete an ideas portal user

Sometimes it is necessary to disable or delete users because they have changed employment or you wish to prevent them from adding or viewing ideas. You may disable or delete any user by hovering over the user so that the menu options appear. 

  1. From the Portal users tab, hover over the user's name.
  2. Click Disable or Delete. 

Note: Disabled portal users can be reactivated at a later time. Deleted portal users are removed permanently. If the user has submitted, voted, or commented on ideas, their content will be retained but the user information will be deleted. If the user has not had any activity, the user information will be deleted entirely. 

Top

Unsubscribe or resubscribe ideas portal users from notifications

If a single user doesn't want to receive notifications, you can opt out of notifications for them by following these steps. They can also unsubscribe to any emails they receive. 

  1. From the Portal users tab, hover over the user's name.
  2. Hover over the user's name and then click Unsubscribe. To resubscribe the user, click Resubscribe.

You can also unsubscribe all users from notifications for an ideas portal. 

  1. From the Portal users tab, click the More options menu. 
  2. Click Unsubscribe all portal users

Note: Individual ideas portal users can always opt back in to idea notifications.

Top

View a portal user's content and activity

User management is about more than just the administrative aspects. The Portal users tab also allows you to engage with any ideas your users have created — and any actions they've taken on your ideas portal. 

  1. From the Portal users tab, There are three columns beside each user: IdeasComments, and Votes. If your user has created an idea, left a comment, or voted for an idea, you will see clickable numbers in these columns. 
  2. Click any number. Aha! will generate a list report based on that user's content or actions. From there, dive into the data. 
  3. Enjoy! 

Top 


Was this article helpful?
1 out of 9 found this helpful