Integration templates (integrations 2.0)

Integration templates make it easier for teams to set up multiple integrations across a portfolio of products. You can save any integration configuration as a template and it apply when setting up additional integrations across the account.

Changes made to a template will update all other integrations based on that template — including the user credentials for the integrations. This makes it easy to administer a large number of integrations with a single configuration. This is particularly helpful because it allows Product Owners to create integrations based on a centrally managed configuration that has been set up by system Administrators, eliminating the need for assistance each time you configure a new integration.

How it works

You will need to be a Product Owner in Aha! to create an integration. To add a new integration, navigate to Settings > Product in your account. You will have the option to use an existing template, or once enabled, you can save the configuration you created as a new template. Once created, the template will be available for other users in your account to use when setting up future integrations. If you choose to use an existing template, the configuration options from the template will be applied to your integration.

Any fully configured integration in your account can be used as a template for other integrations of the same type across your account. To set an integration as a template, select the Use as template checkbox from the More options menu in the upper right of the integrations screen.

Aha-integrations-template.png

To use an existing template when configuring a new integration, select the template of your choice from the Template dropdown on the Start step of your integration configuration. When you select the Save and continue button on the Configure account step, you will see the authentication credentials are already prepopulated and saved for you.

aha-integration-template-select.png

To apply settings that differ from the template, unselect the Based on template checkbox at the top of each configuration section. The fields within the section become editable when the checkbox has been removed. It is important to remember that removing a section from the template settings means that the section will no longer inherit changes made to the template in the future.

aha-integration-template-based-on.png

To remove a template or delete an integration serving as a template, you first need to switch any integrations using that template over to a different template or to their own configuration. When viewing an integration template, it will display the number of integrations using that template. Click this number to be presented with links to each integration — this allows you to navigate to each and make the required changes.

aha-integration-others.png

Once all integrations using the template have been reconfigured, the Delete integration option will become available under the More options dropdown.

Security considerations

Since integration templates allow credentials to be used across an Aha! account, only users with access to the product containing the template will be able to apply the template to their own integration. To use a template defined on another product, you will need at least Viewer permissions for that product.

This means if your colleague creates a template for "Product A" in your account, and you do not have access to "Product A," you will not be able to use the template when you configure your integration in your product.

Without full Product Owner access, you will be able to use the template but will not have access to edit the template. This is important because it allows for templates to be configured without concern that other users will edit the template and impact integrations across the account.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk